#pushsend

It’s really happening. I’m about to #pushsend and join the elite fellowship of Math Teachers Who Blog.

Even as I write this, I can’t believe how long it’s taken me to get into the game. I started teaching in 2015, and for the first couple of years I’ve mostly been content to lurk and steal awesome ideas from other teachers.

This fall, though, I’m moving to a new school where I’ll be teaching eighth grade math, and I’ve taken the summer to do a deep dive get my feet wet in the online math teacher community. It is a truly breathtaking, inspiring place. And I’ve already learned so much about interactive notebooks and standards-based grading and so many other things from my online teacher friends.

From all this, the most important thing I’ve learned is that the online math teaching community is a place where everyone gives generously and supports each other so that we can all get better at what we do. It’s an amazing community. And I am very grateful to all the teachers who have encouraged me to jump into the conversation.

So, in the spirit of pushing send, a quick, initial contribution. This afternoon, I was inspired by Meg Craig’s fantastic classroom posters to create some wall art for my classroom. Remembering some great posters that I’d seen on Rick Barlow’s feed, I recreated / lightly adapted them for my own room. The posters are designed to be printed in about 18″ x 24″ size. A link to the pdf versions is below.

Click to download growth mindset posters here.

School doesn’t start for another month. There’s still a lot to do, but I can’t wait to get started.

4 thoughts on “#pushsend

  1. These are super dope posters, thanks for sharing! I hope you keep blogging whether you have something to share, or something to think about or something to reflect on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yay… another blog to follow lol. Totally overwhelmed, but there’s so much great stuff. Much better use of time than getting sucked into facebook haha! LOVE the posters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

